Lose weight or Procrastinate?

So it’s been two weeks since I last walked…

I’m really shocked at how time has flown by and how easy it is to fall back into old habits.  I did 2 miles today and despite feeling very crappy to start with, by the end I felt great…Surprise!

As we’ve entered October, the mornings are darker for longer, and the nights get earlier each day, so the time I have to walk, has been greatly reduced. Now, that sounds like a fantastic and very plausible reason for my lack of walking but the truth is simply that I’ve just stayed away from it, for no good reason.

As I’m self-employed, I manage my own time and I can therefore decide to walk at 8.00 am instead of 6.00 am, as I would in the summer months. Alternatively, I can finish my day around 4.00 pm and get a walk in before I have my evening meal and settle down for the night. It really is my choice, and one that I only need urgency-importanceto sort out 3 times per week, so it’s not really going to impact on my day/week that much.

Procrastination is a huge problem and if we let it fester and grow, then it literally takes over and keeps us in our comfort zone.

You cannot make money and excuses at the same time”.

That’s what I say to audiences all the time, when they talk about not having the time to invest in changing their life.  In my case,

Sharon, you cannot lose weight without getting off your big butt and getting it done…So move it girl!”

Walking has to be the easiest thing I could do, in terms of exercise. Let’s face it, I’m not going to do any other form at this stage (or weight). But it is easier not to do it at all.  Losing weight is hard but being overweight is hard too, so I just need to choose which ‘hard’ I’m prepared to live with and get on with it.

yesterday-now-tomorrowSo, this week I will re-commit to my walking, ensuring that I schedule the time properly with no excuses, and instead of being satisfied with maintaining the one stone weight loss already achieved, I will start to get on with losing the next one.  If any of you find the stone I’ve lost…Don’t touch it, step over it and keep walking!

Have a great week and be UNSTOPPABLE.

Leave a Reply

